June 8, 2014 … magnificent autumn scenery

Some fellow club members organized a field trip to Castlepoint.

Autumn avenue

On the farm near Masterton

I usually regard myself as a solitary photographer, or at best, one who prefers very small groups. I had to persuade myself to participate, and I am so very glad I did. We left Lower Hutt at the very leisurely hour of 9 am and drove up to meet the rest of the group in a nice coffee shop in Featherston. The forecast for the weekend was rough, so we were pleasantly surprised at how good things were in the Wairarapa. Just out of Masterton, the three of us in our car stopped to capture the Autumn leaves at the spectacular Maungahina Stud. We visited here on our last trip to Castlepoint, and it was as we remembered it, though the leaf-shedding was a bit further advanced this time.

Panorama

Rolling green hills in the Wairarapa … I wonder where that road goes

The rolling green landscape of the Central Wairarapa is a joy to behold, and there are so many roads and paths that invite further exploration.  While we got sidetracked on the farm, the others had pressed on and phoned us from Castlepoint to ask what was taking so long. Guiltily we resumed the journey.

Castlepoint

From the front door of the rented house at Castlepoint

When we arrived at the rented house, we could scarcely believe our luck. The view of the lighthouse from the street was wonderful, and  in November or December with that Pohutukawa in flower it would be even more so.

Castle rock

Also from the front door – Castle Rock

Looking back down the street there was a splendid view across a small patch of intervening farmland to Castle Rock. After we had settled in and chosen rooms and beds, we went down to the beach.

Surfer

This guy was in the water for at least an hour while we were there … very hardy in chilly water

Despite the chilly temperatures, there were surfers catching the waves in the gap at the Southern end of the lagoon.

Castlepoint lagoon

Across the lagoon at Castlepoint … the lighthouse is there, just to the right of the trees

Some of my friends chose to climb Castle Rock. I stayed low and played with the ND filter to try for a less usual view of Castlepoint.

Pipit

NZ Pipit … has a very comical high-speed running style

While we were there and the others were up the hill, a small bird came fluttering out of the grass at the back of the beach and began running around pecking around the rocks. It ran everywhere at high speed, rather than hopping. I guessed that it was  New Zealand Pipit (Anthus novaeseelandiae). A Facebook friend thought it might be a Dunnock, but the majority view was with the Pipit.

We ended the very satisfying day with a good steak dinner in the local pub watching a very poor performance by the All Blacks who came perilously close to losing to England.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Camera club, Castlepoint, Landscapes, Masterton. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 8, 2014 … magnificent autumn scenery

  1. brent higham says:

    I enjoyed this blog you have captured the weekend in words which like photographs which increases the memories of the past

Leave a Reply

