May 30, 2014 … sheer desperation

Yesterday was a desperate day.

Straitsman

Straitsman backing into its berth in Wellington

I had so much happening  socially and domestically that finding time and circumstances for photography was very difficult. On the way to lunch with former Dairy Board colleagues, I was caught in traffic on Aotea Quay. The Bluebridge ferry, Straitsman was backing into its berth, bang on time near 11:30 am, so I rolled the window down, grabbed the nearest camera and snatched this shot. She’s a funny little ship, as high in the water as the Interisland Line’s Kaitaki, but about half the length. I would be curious to know how she handles rough seas. When a ship is moving, I am always intrigued to see where the people on board might be seen. I spotted crew at the stern waiting to handle the moorings, and some passengers up on the upper decks. The bridge crew are almost certainly on the port wing since she is coming alongside the wharf on that side.

coffee brewing

I tried to catch the coffee running into the carafe … It smelled and tasted better than it looks

And then I just ran out of time, ferrying friends, and taking care of grandchildren who are with us for a couple of nights. Sheer desperation drove me to attempting to catch coffee dripping.

hot water

New jug boiling the water. I rarely drink tea.

That wasn’t too exciting so how about the new glass electric jug coming to the boil.

Oh rats! Better luck today, perhaps.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Maritime, Normandale, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 30, 2014 … sheer desperation

  1. Nevertheless an entertaining read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

