May 24, 2014 … in sombre mood

Winter’s cold breath is upon us.

Seaview Marina

Thirty seconds at Seaview marina. The police RIB nearby is about to depart, and if you enlarge, you will see one of its crew moving about on the bow, casting off the moorings.

Though the weather is ugly, and my images today are a bit on the sombre side, I assure you that life is good. Yesterday I enjoyed the company at lunch of the kind friend who lent me his camera while I awaited the replacement of the demolished one. We chatted about this and that, mostly in a photographic vein, and I learned a lot of interesting things from him. Things that I must try for myself before too long. One of the great things about the photographic community is that, for the most part, they are willing to share their knowledge. It is well beyond the call of duty, however to lend a piece of equipment like this, and I am grateful to both him, and the other friend who lent his 200mm zoom.

Yet another friend who is a long way ahead of me with the slow exposure tricks has offered to share her expertise which is great. That, is the area of today’s efforts. Now that I have two serious filters, I can get really long exposures.  Of course this can be overdone, and a close inspection of the first image reveals that most of the masts in the Seaview Marina moved about during the 30 seconds for which the shutter was open.

IMG_7619-Edit

City lights through the gloom. Again you will need to enlarge to see the lines of headlights crawling along the road from Ngauranga to Petone.

From the North West corner of the harbour, things got really gloomy. There was a strong Northerly b;owing and I suspect that across the harbour there was more of a chop than there was on this beach. This close in, the wind tended to flatten the water, and the long exposure increased the smoothing effect. City lights were just visible through the murk. The window of blue sky soon closed and we subsequently  had a turbulent night with winds gusting to 140 km/h. There is more to come.

Petone

Looking along the windswept beach at Petone

Clouds over the Eastern Hills promised rough weather to come. The last rays of the sun sneaking through imperfect seams in the cloud cover left some light on the oil and chemical tanks at Seaview.

Oil tanker

Torea delivering petroleum at Seaview

Bright lights in the previous image drew to my attention the presence of the coastal oil tanker, Torea, delivering petroleum from the Whangarei refinery to ports around the coast.

To the South,

That’s all for now.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, harbour, Maritime, Petone, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May 24, 2014 … in sombre mood

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    The slow exposures are an interesting idea. I read a blog once about a guy somewhere in the USA (NYC, I think) who set his camera up in a cafe or similar, and put 2 stacked 10-stop ND filters on, and made a several HOUR exposure of city streets (this was in Film days) out the window. Teh buildings stayed intact, but the intersection and car lights and do on were reduced to some kind of slightly denser fog. It occurred to me that a being whose time scale was such that its seconds were our years might perceive us as nothing more than a fog

  2. Toya says:

    You are definitely getting better with the slow exposures, this is a nice set of images! Well done.

Leave a Reply

