May 15, 2014 … in the not-so-sunny bay

Napier was not living up to its sunny reputation.

cart

This tired old cart is itself becoming compost, even as it acts as a planter for flowers on its deck. I liked the lichens on the spokes and the web in the hub.

The motel in Taradale is very pleasant, and the first thing I saw outside the window was this decoratively displayed ruin of a farm cart. Despite the rotted wheel rims and the flowers growing through the cracks in its decking it was very attractive.

Clouds

Cloudscape somewhere near Havelock North … from Roy’s Hill Reserve

After lunch, Mary was visiting her mother and I was turned loose to pursue photographs. I went out to the Fernhill area, near all the vineyards planed in the famed Gimblett gravels. Nothing much left on the vines by now save some autumn leaves. I chose to visit Roy’s Hill reserve, which is a small knoll just out of Fernhill which offers spreading views across the area. Cumulus clouds out to the East were worth a look.

Panning

Vineyard impressions

While I was up there, I experimented with a technique I saw in Blenheim of panning while the shutter was open, to try to capture an impression of the colours of the post-harvest vineyards.

Old building

Weary old building in Fernhill

Back at ground level, the road took me though the old village at Fernhill and this rather forlorn old store.

Oak avenue

Oak avenue – Ormond Rd, Hastings

From there, the road took me back towards Hastings where I saw this historic oak-lined avenue. A police car was lurking at the edges to catch anyone defying the 60 km/h speed limit. The officer offered to move his car if it were interfering with my picture. I like our police. I didn’t need to move him, but was glad to have his eyes looking out for me as I stood in the middle of the road to take this shot.

I hope the sun comes out soon.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Hawkes Bay, Landscapes, Light, Napier, Taradale. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May 15, 2014 … in the not-so-sunny bay

  1. I like the sweep of the vineyard impressions, much colour and mood. Plus the avenue.

  2. Adam Rosner says:

    The tree tunnel is great. I’ve seen a few of these, always wanted to photograph them – just a case of being there when the light is right. There’s one as you go through Fitzgerald Glade on the way from AKL to Rotorua. Closer to home there’s also one on the Gladstone Rd by the Masterton end. Plus the Otaki Forks road too. Be a fantastic place to take a pic of a Red car too.

Leave a Reply

