May 12, 2014 … it’s life, Jim, but not as we know it*

More of the same.

Sunrise

A rosy dawn in the Hutt Valley

Perhaps it’s true that there is some crude form of life before mid-morning coffee. Anyway, there was an interesting crimson dawn at some early hour of which I previously had little knowledge.

Lowry Bay

At the water’s edge, Lowry Bay

Again, much of yesterday was spent editing and formatting the  camera club newsletter. When I finally emerged from my office, there was some pale remnant of afternoon light left, and the sky was taking on a rosy hue. The previous day, I sought altitude. Yesterday I went to the other extreme and got down low at the water’s edge. Did you know that the water really can have an edge?

Shafts of light

Kaukau and Matiu/Somes

In Lowry Bay, the sun was taking refuge behind the slopes of Mt Kaukau, and shedding its last light on the top of Matiu/Somes Island. What should I make of red skies in both morning and afternoon?  Is this delight or warning? Photographically, either are delightful.

Chembulk Sydney

Red sky … the chemical tanker is red too, but is silhouetted by the low light

I had really packed up to go home, but the last light washing over the chemical tanker, Chembulk Sydney seemed worth stopping for.

Live long and prosper**.

* “Star Trekkin'” written by John O’Connor, Grahame Lister and Rory Kehoe

** Star Trek

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Day's Bay, Maritime, sunrise, Sunset, Waves, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May 12, 2014 … it’s life, Jim, but not as we know it*

  1. Are you ok? All this early morning carrying on. 🙂

  2. Cliff says:

    It’s called “suffering for your art”, I believe.

Leave a Reply

