May 10, 2014 … they who expect little shall not be disappointed

Unexpected sunshine caught me on the hop.

red-billed gulls

Washing the plumage in salt water …

I began at Hikoikoi and found little to interest me, other than a flock of red-billed gulls performing their ablutions at the water’s edge. Nothing to see here. Move on.

York Bay

High in the hills above York Bay … the road is very narrow

I went up one of the many side roads into the Eastern Hills above York bay, and when I came to the end of the road, executed a fourteen-point turn and came down, pausing only to observe the strange mist among the overhanging trees. There was no sign of mist elsewhere, so I suspect someone had a fire going and the smoke was lingering in the bush.

Reflections in the marina

Aftershocks … can you see the seismographic traces?

Still waters offer reflections so I thought to give Seaview Marina a try. Conditions were pretty good, but I thought I had better do something other than the same old row of boats. Though I was unaware of it at the time, there had been a modest (4.2) earthquake in Christchurch that morning, and somewhat thoughtlessly I named this image “Aftershocks” since the rippled reflections reminded me of seismographic traces.

Fleet in harbour

Focal point

Still striving for the point of difference, something other than the documentary shot of the marina, I experimented with the zoom ring on my lens. Hmmmm … possibilities.

Something different tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Maritime, Seaview. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

