May 8, 2014 … a changing city and a constant landscape

Wellington’s Central Business District has evolved.

Wellington CBD

Midland Park across Waring Taylor St.

When I first came here to learn computer programming way back in 1966, the trams had not long gone. There were many more old-style pubs, and a lot of the large movie theatres. A particular memory was the Midland Hotel, now commemorated only in the name of the park where it once stood. I stayed there for seven weeks, enjoying the privilege as a house guest, of being allowed to drink in the upstairs bar after the closure of the main bars at six pm. It was not until September 1967 that a referendum overthrew the tyranny of six o’clock closing.  But I digress. I found myself looking across Midland Park, and saw the symmetry of the adjacent buildings reflected in the black marble columns of another building across Waring Taylor St.

Gliding On

The former Defence Headquarters seen through a shelter on Stout Street

On my way to a pleasant lunch with a friend in a  pub which didn’t exist back in those early days, I spotted this view of the old Defense Headquarters building on Stout Street. Older locals may recall it as the setting for the TV comedy series “Gliding On” .  It caught my eye because many of Wellington’s more exposed street corners are blessed with glass shelters which would theoretically keep pedestrians dry as they wait for the lights at pedestrian crossings. Of course they are useful only in the rare event of rain that falls vertically. If it’s raining and you are on foot, you will get wet. Get used to it.

Masked lapwings

Masked lapwings

As I often do I took the scenic route home. I have just learned that Canon expect a ten-day delay in the repair of my long lens due to the lack of crucial parts, so it was unlikely I would get close to any birds. Nevertheless I was happy to see these masked lapwings on parade at the shoreline.

Landscape

The Haywards Valley

A diversion up a side road in the Haywards valley provided me with this pleasant pastoral landscape.

That’s enough for today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Haywards Hill, Landscapes, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

