May 4, 2014 … wet weather defied

Grey wet weather again.

Architecture from the fifties

Fire escape on the old telephone exchange, Lower Hutt

Defeat is not in my vocabulary. At least one purposeful photograph every day is the goal, no matter what the weather is doing. Mary had some shopping to do, so I accompanied here to Lower Hutt and while she was shopping for some clothes, I was turned loose to see what I could find. The old Lower Hutt telephone exchange building was the site of my first attempt. There was not much I could do with it, but I liked the steel fire escape. The only way I could add any mystery was to convert it to black and white, using the look and feel of the old Ilford FP4.

Earthquake preparations

Lower Hutt City Centre about to be strengthened

Nearby, the Lower Hutt Town hall and civic centre is being fenced off preparatory to a major earthquake strengthening makeover. I suspect it will be closed for a long time.

Lower Hutt

Click to enlarge and see the texture in this reflection

No sign of the missing shopper so I carried on wandering and quite liked the texture in the reflection of a an office block in a random puddle. And then she was back.

Wet shopping day

Western end of Jackson St, Petone

Our next stop was Petone, and while Mary was in a shop on Jackson Street, I was attempting to catch the atmosphere. Petone is one of the few places in the Wellington region where street parking is free. The city fathers (of both sexes) have not yet figured this out, and wonder why so many Wellingtonians come out to the valley, even on dismal days like this. Look at the cloud hanging on the Western hills.

Toetoe

Wind wavers

In the afternoon, I followed the coast road from Wainuiomata, but found nothing but a dull sea and a chill wind at the beach. On the way back, a cluster of toetoe thrashing in the breeze called me over. I used a small aperture and a long exposure, but didn’t need the ND filter to get the waving fronds as I wanted.

Another challenge tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Lower Hutt, Petone, Wainuiomata, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 4, 2014 … wet weather defied

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    The toetoe is a firm contender for the best 5 of the month. And the fire escape is great… but I always like B&W photos of geometric things.

Leave a Reply

