May 2, 2014 … marine compulsion

For such a poor sailor, I wonder why I am so drawn to the sea.

The Sirens

Turbulent waters and sharp rocks are not a good combination, but they do make a nice picture

Yesterday’s images begin on the South Coast, somewhere to the West of Island Bay at the rocks known as “The Sirens” . I think this is a reference to the sweet singers of Greek mythology rather than to the sound of emergency vehicles, and may have a connection to the attraction I feel to the area. A stiff Southerly breeze was pushing some fairly solid swells over and through these jagged rocks, and of course I couldn’t resist the allure of my neutral density filter and the resulting slow exposure. The shutter was open for thirteen seconds in this shot, and that yields the vision of a steaming cauldron. Only as you look out towards the horizon do you get a sense of the size of the incoming swells. (Click to enlarge)

Afternoon light

At the boatsheds near Paremata

Later in the day it was around Pauatahanui where I saw no useful birds. I paused at the Paremata bridge to take in the bright colours of the boats near the sheds.  Rather than going back over the Haywards Hill, I went back down the motorway, and on a whim, diverted up the Takapu Valley.

High tension work

Up the pole, round the bend, screaming mad, or at least that’s what I would be up there. He on the other hand was laughing and joking with his colleagues on the ground.

I had left it far too late in the day as most of the valley was in deep shadow. At the very end of the road, adjacent to the Belmont Regional park, there was some residual sunshine, and a crew of linesmen were working on some high voltage lines. I presume that the lines in this case were not live, but I could be wrong.

IMG_6962Dead thistles

At the end of the cycle

For no apparent reason, a cluster of dead thistles caught my eye as I was leaving.

And that’s the end of the day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Paremata, South Coast, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 2, 2014 … marine compulsion

  1. Cliff says:

    I like the first one, though I’m drawn for some reason to power lines.

Leave a Reply

