April 30, 2014 … a prickly problem and a storm

Up to date once more!

choko

Choko or chayote presents a prickly face to the world

For a very long time, Mary has tried to grow choko, or as it is known elsewhere chayote. In Auckland, it grows like a weed, and is hard to eradicate. In Wellington, it seems to need just the right conditions, so until now there has been no fruit. Suddenly we have a vine that produced a crop of these spectacularly ugly vegetables. A particularly fine specimen just demanded to be photographed, so here it is.

Rough weather

Across the muddy harbour to the city and the Arahura departing for Picton

In the afternoon, a very strong Southerly was blowing so I went to the Petone foreshore once more. River silt was discolouring the harbour. Over in the city, stray sunlight was lighting the hills and the Arahura was setting out on what I expect was a very uncomfortable crossing of the Cook Strait.

Southerly swells

Wave action at Petone

Waves were thumping into the seawall at the Western end of the beach and hurling spray high in the air.

Wind surfer

It’s an ill wind … only one surfer out there with the beach all to himself

Further to the East, a wind-surfer was making use of the conditions to fly back and forth along the beach, with Matiu/Somes Island in the background.

Mt Victoria

Mt Victoria across the water

My last image was caught when Mount Victoria was suddenly picked out from the dark background. You can see that the water regains its natural green colour out in the distance.

And that’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in harbour, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April 30, 2014 … a prickly problem and a storm

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Loving the sunlight on Mt Vic. Did you use a polarizer for that one or was that actually how it looked?

Leave a Reply

