April 28, 2014 … over the bounding main

Yes, I’m still running a day behind.

Lenticular clouds forming

Somewhere off the South coast, we could see those high wind clouds forming

On Sunday a group of fellow photographers joined me on the homeward trip across the strait, on the Kaitaki. Bizarrely, we ended up sitting at the same table from which my iPad was stolen on the journey South. I have now replaced it, and of course, the instant you use iCloud to restore the contents of the old machine to the new device, the tracking that might otherwise have located my stolen device ceases to apply. As far as iCloud is concerned, my new machine is my old one. We were all a bit battle weary and to some extent, “peopled out” so it was a somewhat subdued crossing. The weather was deteriorating rapidly and through the salt stained  front window I noticed some lenticular clouds forming over the Eastern hills of Wellington as we got nearer. In need of fresh air, I went to the upper deck to get this.

View from the upper deck

The white dot in the far distance is the Santa Regina

Sufficient fresh air was obtained in a  very short time since it was being forced into my lungs at high speed and low temperature. I turned my back and looked across the lifeboats to the Bluebridge ferry far in the distance even though she left Picton five minutes ahead of us.

Sunset at sea

Looking back towards Arapawa Island

Out to the North West, the clouds were interesting and the wind turbines near Makara were clearly visible.

That’s it for today.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

