April 18, 2014 … wind in the night

Darkness descended with not a photo taken.

Night lights

Impressionism?

Out into the cold and dark of a wild Wellington night. My camera was mounted firmly on the tripod but I could feel it vibrating in very strong the wind. With firm downward pressure on the tripod I made the exposure, but the wind was so strong that the best I could achieve was this. Quite abstract really.

Darkness and wind

Wellington across the harbour in a gale

I tried a little later from a more sheltered position, and though I failed again to get perfect stillness I wanted. Both this and the preceding image were intended to show the same subject … the night lights of Wellington from the Eastern Bays. In the upper photo, the lights at the top are Mt Victoria and the dark shape below is Mokopuna, the little island to the North of Matiu/Somes Island.

Day's Bay Wharf

Day’s Bay wharf in the dark of night

Around in Day’s Bay, with shelter from the trees and my car, I tried to capture the night lights on the Day’s Bay Wharf. The bright light to the right of the wharf is the sail-training ship Spirit of New Zealand, at anchor, sheltering from the wild winds out at sea.

Day's Bay wharf

The wharf and the lamp lit waters … not as smooth as the picture suggests

From a slightly different place I focussed on the wharf itself, and was quite pleased with the star-burst effects around the street lights and lamps on the wharf.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, harbour, night, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

