April 17, 2014 … grey wet landscape

My heart was just not in it yesterday.

Taita gorge

The river is up, though not yet at flood levels

In fact, pieces of it were still back on the floor with my shattered camera and lens. But I have not yet missed a day of this blog, and whether it is commitment, or simply incipient OCD, I was not about to start now.

My other camera, a Canon 5DII is a very fine, if somewhat battle-weary camera, and my longest surviving lens (a 24-105mm zoom) is a superb piece of optical engineering so I should quit my whining and get back to it.  Steady rain and drifting wind made me wonder what the river was doing up at the weir. There had been some really heavy rain overnight so I wondered if the river would present a different face.

Taita gorge (2)

The drop shown here is perhaps one metre, but enough to allow me to capture this veil

Though the levels were visibly higher, the change was marginal, but I was there and since I was in a heavy mood I was disinclined to look elsewhere. It was here or nothing.

Bed rock

There are few places where the underlying rock is so visible. The river gravels in the Hutt are up to 100 metres deep on the Western side of the valley and the faulted and shattered rock is rarely visible like this.

The underlying rock at the gorge is colourful and interesting though for the most part it is well hidden under the river shingle that forms the floor of most of the Hutt Valley. Seams exposed here are, as best as I can find out, Triassic Argillite and Greywacke, but I am no geologist, so take that with a large dose of caution.

Taita gorge (3)

Across the weir to Silverstream railway bridge where one of the old Hungarian Ganz-Mavag units is heading from Manor Park to Silverstream and Upper Hutt. Rain obscures the more distant landscape and Autumn colours frame the view

An approaching train made itself heard above the throbbing rush of the tumbling water so I lined up on the Silverstream bridge in time to catch this shot.

And that’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Geology, Hutt River, Silverstream. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April 17, 2014 … grey wet landscape

  1. In spite of a broken heart you have produced some nice images.

  2. Toya says:

    You do a really good job of catching those trains as they fly by! Very sorry about your camera and lens but you could look at it as a challenge to create even better images with the 5DII.

    • Thanks Toya … as I just posted on FB, a friend is lending me his 100-400 which is very brave and generous of him as he knows my record. I used the 5D and the wider lenses most days, but they dust don’t cut it for birds

Leave a Reply

