April 14, 2014 … wind and wave action

Surely this obsession will pass?

Bright doors

Battered boatsheds, Breaker Bay

They always do, but for the moment, the slow exposure thing with the aid of the neutral density filter is ongoing. For some reason I expected relatively calm water on the South Coast yesterday, and was surprised to find a great deal of turbulence. Coming round the corner from Tarakena Bay, I encountered a little cluster of boatsheds still suffering the after-effects of the big storm last June. It was very hard to keep the wind-driven rain off the lens.

Wave action (1)

Breaker Bay with the road at the left leading up to the Pass of Branda

Near the Pass of Branda, the waves were breaking against the rocks with that “thump!” that you feel through the soles of your feet. I took some “straight” shots and then succumbed to the temptation of the ND filter.

Wave Action (2)

Waves in Breaker bay

To be honest the waves were not all that huge, but they were making a lot of fuss around the rocks below.

Wave action (3)

Constant surge and ebb creates fantastic patterns

In fact, the longer I stayed, the more variations I saw in what happened down there. I could have stayed much longer, but then I would have ended up with dozens of similar but different wave shots, and then what would I do with them?

Worser Bay

In worser Bay the sea was much calmer

Through the Pass of Branda and into Seatoun, I was surprised at how different the conditions were in the lee of Fort Dorset. At the Seatoun wharf, there was still movement on the sea, but much gentler than on that South-facing coast.

That’s all for now,

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, South Coast, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

