April 13, 2014 … rushing water and horse droppings

I have lived in the Hutt Valley for thirty-four years.

Weir, Hutt River

The weir on the Hutt River at Taita Gorge. That’s the 4:39pm train that has just left Manor Park and is crossing the bridge at Silverstream on its way to Upper Hutt

Until yesterday, if anyone had said to me that there is a full width weir across the Hutt river, I would have quoted Col. Sherman T Potter and cried “horse puckey”. Well yesterday, I saw it with my own eyes, and even walked on it. A good friend told me to go and see it. Despite the sullen grey overcast and intermittent rain, I went out to capture my photo for the day. Normally I seek a bit more diversity in the day’s photography, but I make no apology for being captivated by the rushing water. Please click to enlarge to see the detail in these images.

Flowing water

Getting a neutral density filter to behave is quite tricky and they often throw in colour casts, and unwanted shadows or lens flare. If you buy one, get a good one/

Below the weir, there are many interesting boulders placed to prevent the structure being undercut. There is some resultant white water, and the local kayak community get excited about it in flood conditions when the river flow is high enough. Yesterday’s flow was quite modest, but as you can see I used my variable density filter to get a very slow exposure. This shows the water flow, and if your tripod is solid enough, keeps the fixed objects sharp.

Flowing water (2)

If I came across this image on the net, I would tend to doubt any connection to the Hutt River. However, I was there and saw it with my own eyes.

 

The river stones are real ankle-breakers and given my recent history and somewhat strained relationship with my insurers, I manoeuvred very carefully from one viewpoint to another. I should add that there has been very little manipulation of these shots. I removed a few sticks that a friend was worried might be interpreted as dust, and adjusted the exposure and colour balance, but otherwise they are as taken.

Flowing water (3)

I love the way a few steps to left or right can give a different view

 

Though I had deliberately lowered the light levels with my filter, a certain level of light is still necessary, and it was getting fairly chilly with the wind blowing from the South up the river, so after this shot, I called it a day. You know the old cliché that “once you have a hammer, everything looks like a nail“. I shall have to take care not to overdo the filter-assisted slow shots.

That’s all for today

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Light, Rivers, Taita. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to April 13, 2014 … rushing water and horse droppings

  1. nzvideos says:

    Were these all at the same shutter speed? My problem in trying to do these shots is getting the right shutter speed for the water flow – different water flow rates require different shutter speeds, I have found and, of course one needs to make adjustments for varying light conditions.
    Excellent, beautiful results. Thank you.

    • Charles, the last two images were at f22, ISO 100 and were at 1.3 seconds and 5 seconds respectively. My experience was that once you get beyond a certain length of exposure the difference between images was small regadless of the exposure time. Of course the flow rates in the water were more or less unvarying so I have yet to see what happens in times of lesser or greater flow, but I shall make a point of re-visiting next time there is anything approaching flood conditions.

  2. brent higham says:

    great images brian there is also more to this little spot and that is the geography there are seams of twisted broken rock showing the flashes of orange and reds and the white and coloured boulders adding contrast to the white flowing water .it pleases me to share this spot knowing it is appreciated

Leave a Reply

