April 12, 2014 … dull, flat and ‘orrible

A photographic friend described the recent weather as DFO.

new growth

Looking down the spine

I promptly stole his descriptor (dull, flat and ‘orrible) for today’s title.  And yet, provided the wind stays low, there are still photographic possibilities. Even as I was leaving home yesterday, the ponga tree at the front steps offered a view down the spine of its newest frond that seemed interesting.

fisherman

More in hope than expectation … and truth to tell, I would be wary of eating anything caught in the harbour. With the best will in the world, large populations seem incapable of keeping their water clean

As is my habit, I arrived in town well before the appointed hour, so went to Oriental Bay to see what could be seen. The aforementioned “DFO weather” had imposed a greyness on the harbour, some kind of cross between mist and drizzle. Though there was a light breeze, the water was close to flat calm and I liked the view of the man fishing from a concrete groyne at the Western end of the bay.

solitary walker

Hard to believe that the central city is just behind me. I hope he solved whatever seemed to be troubling him

A little further on, I stopped again, as a man who obviously needed to be alone with his thoughts strode purposefully along the water’s edge. The sand on the artificially constructed beach came by barge from Golden Bay, and is topped up from time to time.

Tiaki

At least in literature, the only word to associate with a tug’s style of movement is “bustling”

The two tugs, Tiaki and Tapuhi scurried across the harbour to guide a large container ship to its berth. This shot is of Tiaki travelling at speed.

Close to shore

JPO Volans coming round the point

Many ports around the world bring quite big ships close to the centre of the city, and Wellington does it now and then. The big black hull nosing around the corner of Oriental Bay was the “JPO Voland” a Panamax container ship of 41,225 Gross Tonnes with a capacity for 4,250 twenty-foot containers. As container ships go, it is quite big, though less than a quarter of the size of the very biggest.

JPO Volans

Tugs connected fore and aft. The kayaker offers no threat

Soon, the two tugs were attached, though the ship seemed to be doing well under its own power. I am guessing that the tugs really push or pull only for the final alignment with the designated berth.  The kayaker in the foreground was an interesting contrast.

Oriental Bay

Carter fountain plays

My last shot of the day is of the Carter fountain which makes a nice picture in these misty circumstances. Apparently there are at least another ten days of DFO in our forecast.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in harbour, Landscapes, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

