April 11, 2014 … scattered thoughts

In town for lunch, again!

Metrosideros robusta

Norther rata in a planter box in the city. It seems confused about the seasons

Steady cold drizzle has been the norm for a few days now, and is likely to remain so for at least another week. As I parked the car on Waring Taylor Street, my eye was caught by an unseasonal splash of red. Though I am not totally sure of the identification, this is one of the Metrosideros family, and on the basis of the rounded leaf tips, I tend to think it is the Northern rata (Metrosideros robusta). It’s an unusual choice for a planter box, and I am puzzled by its unseasonal flowering.

Dominion Farmers Building

Looking North up Featherston Street . The Dominion Farmers’ Institute Building is in the centre

I was meeting my host at Leuven, the excellent Belgian beer cafe on Featherston St. From there some of the city’s remaining “heritage” buildings can be seen. The star of this particular view is the Dominion Farmers’ Institute Building. Behind it is the former Customhouse building.

Starling

A juvenile starling. I have no idea why there are pottery shards on this beach

It was  an excellent lunch, and what’s not to like about a pot of the world’s best mussels steamed in a mustard and blue cheese sauce, with a nice wine and excellent company? From there I went home the long way, in the hope that the Pauatahanui inlet might be still and picturesque in the rain. Sadly the wind ruffled the surface and the scene I imagined was just not there. A starling came close, so I caught it hopping about on the mudflats.

Kingfisher

This is not a great kingfisher shot, but at least it shows that they are about again.

A little further on, the kingfishers were teasing me by flying off whenever I pointed the camera at them. I swear they can detect the autofocus, even though it is supposed to be a passive system.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Birds, flowers, Food, Pauatahanui, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

