April 10, 2014 … mighty like a rose

The last of the long distance travellers flew out yesterday.

Isaac with David

Each time I see one of our grandchildren, I hear the deep bass voice of Paul Robeson, singing “Mighty like a Rose”

Mary and I went to the airport to say goodbye to David, Rowena, Grace and Isaac, as they prepared to fly home to Brisbane. I shall miss them enormously, but it is right and proper that they should be back in their own home environment, for home, work and schools. As we sat in the food court at the airport, I caught Isaac peering around his father’s shoulder.

Airbus A320

When I first saw artists impression of the new colour scheme, I was unimpressed. I have changed my mind. It is very smart

While we waited for the gates to the international departure lounge to be opened, one of Air New Zealand’s newest Airbus A320 all decked out in the new black and white livery was backed out and at this moment, the tug has just disconnected the drawbar, and a Beech 1900D is waiting on a taxiway for clearance to proceed to its gate. And then they were gone.

Not pretty

Dive tender “Guru” at work in Evans Bay

On the way back around Evans Bay, I spotted the dive tender, Guru. Apart from car carriers, this must be one of the ugliest vessels afloat. A catamaran, it was designed specifically as a dive tender, so I really hope she performs better than she looks.  As you can see, the persistent fog is not yet fully dispersed.

Red rose

An anniversary rose

After further unsuccessful attempts to find a photo of the day, I resorted to still life using one of the roses which marked our recent 44th wedding anniversary.

Something different tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Airport, Aviation, Children, Family, flowers, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

