April 9, 2014 … seeking pictures in the wet

Distant travellers have all returned home, and I miss them already.

Citroen H

A delightfully Gallic visitor at Petone

Yesterday, I dragged my eldest son David out with me as I went looking for a photo for the day. It was not fruitful, and wasn’t helped by the dismal weather. Drifting rain and a steady breeze made photography challenging. However, while prowling around Petone, we came across the this  splendid and well maintained example of a Citroen H van. Can you see why the French refer to it as “Nez de cochon” (pig nose)? They are very rare indeed in New Zealand, and this one is still sporting a British number plate and license sticker. It appears to be set up as a food van of some sort.

Scrap yard

Keeping the floor clean

In Seaview , at one of the scrap metal yards I was fascinated to see this big hydraulic grab pick up a big steel girder and then with extreme delicacy, use it to sweep the ground clear of extraneous rubbish.

Driving rain

The golden weather is definitely ended

In the evening I had a camera club meeting where everything went wrong. The guest speaker got sick and couldn’t come, and our “Plan B” was scuttled when our laptop computer died. We had an ad hoc discussion on the merits and techniques of creating photobooks.  The members seemed to engage so we were lucky. I decided to stretch my luck and in the dark and rain, went back to Seaview. You may get a sense of the weather by the rain sweeping past the lights at the oil terminal.

That’s all for now

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Light, Machinery, night, Petone, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

