April 6, 2014 … I don’t remember growing older, when did they?*

Still running a day behind in posting.

Model Messerschmitt

David’s model of a Messerschmitt Bf 109k4

This blog relates to Saturday 5th of April. In the morning I went with our eldest son, David to a model show in Upper Hutt. David is an avid, and in my admittedly biased opinion,  expert model maker. He discovered that he would be in Wellington at the same time as the local exhibition, so naturally enough, he brought a model over from Brisbane to enter into the competition. His Messerschmitt Bf109K4  is shown here, sitting on the table at the exhibition. If it looks scruffy, it is because part of the modeller’s art is to make the model look like the real thing as it appeared in the field,  complete with chips, scratches, oil leaks, exhaust stains,  wear and tear and general weathering. He got a third place for this.

IPMS competition

General display of the exhibition hall at Upper Hutt … modellers are still delivering their models to the competition

This was a reasonably large exhibition as these things go and as I understand it was well patronised and well-organized.

IMG_8120Day's Bay

Warm bright afternoon at Day’s bay

In the evening, as an ongoing part of the celebrations sneakily organized by Mary, the whole family and some close friends gathered for dinner at Eastbourne. The day had been nearly perfect, and the evening was pleasantly warm and bright, and was the last day before we put our clocks back an hour to NZ Standard time. People were out and about enjoying themselves.

Mary and I with our children

Our kids. We have been mightily blessed and are proud of each and every one of them. L to R, Anthony (Ants), Catherine, Mary, me, Helen, David and Andrew (Drew) (Photo by Phil Benge)

It seems there is no limit to my wife’s sneakiness, because she had even arranged a photographer to come and do some family photographs before dinner. For the second time in the history of the blog, I include some pictures taken by others. Mary and I are seen here with our five children.

Family

Here are the people I love most in the whole world. It was a great joy to me that they all honoured me by coming home for my birthday (photo by Phil Benge)

My friend and fellow camera club member, Phil, did a good job organizing and marshalling the whole tribe, and after each formal set, said “now talk to each other”. Here you see all eighteen of us together. It seems just a few days ago that the youngest grandchild, Grace was a baby … look at her now … and those other lovely children who are a total delight to me. No wonder I am reminded of Tevye’s song “… when did she get to be a beauty? When did he get to be so tall?”*

Cobar interior

What an excellent setting for a celebration – the Cobar restaurant, Days Bay. The front doors are open and some customers are out at the tables on their deck.

The chosen venue, the Cobar Restaurant has long been a favourite of mine and I heartily commend it to anyone who can get to that side of the harbour. The food is great, they have some very nice wines and a lovely situation on the seashore.

Birthday Candles

The culmination of the celebration , and the secret number uncovered (Photo by Mary

It was a very happy occasion and concluded as birthday celebrations often do with a cake, and the candles should dispel any remaining mystery.

That’s enough for now.

*from “Sunrise, sunset” lyrics by Sheldon Harnick, from “Fiddler on the Roof”

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Eastbourne, Family, Food, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Models. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April 6, 2014 … I don’t remember growing older, when did they?*

  1. Robbie says:

    Congratulations 70 years and still blooming. A little bald on top and I hope you don’t have high sugar levels with that cake waiting for your huff and puff. Or is it just for looking at. You are really blessed; a great family, a photographer and to top it of, a writer. A great combination.

Leave a Reply

