April 2, 2014 … birds and buses

For reasons yet to be disclosed, family are gathering.

kingfisher

High in the tree, the kingfisher prepares to beat the crab into submission before eating it

Ants, Drew and Abbey were going to spend a few days in a borrowed bach (pronounced “batch” and translated as holiday home) at Waitarere Beach an hour or so up the coast. They invited me to pop up and see them and share lunch with them, so I meandered up their way. I checked in at Pauatahanui on the way and was happy to see a few kingfishers about.

White-fronted tern

Clearing a landing space on a crowded edge

Then, as I paused at a roadside lookout near Pukerua Bay, I enjoyed the sight of white-fronted terns resting on the edge of the sea-wall.

trolleybuses

Three trolleybuses not faring well in the open air

A little further up the line, there is a place which was formerly used as a distribution centre for new cars being shipped to dealers. Since the place has been identified as part of the new Transmission Gully road, it has ceased to be used in that way, but is temporarily providing a space for a group of bus enthusiasts to store their collection while they search for a permanent home and a place to create a bus museum.

buses

Five diesel buses, all from Wellington

Their collection is mainly comprised of buses from the Wellington region, and some of them are not faring too well in the salt-laden open air at Paekakariki.

Thorneycroft

A Thorneycroft bus in the livery of the NZR Road Services … going to “Nai Nai”

The Jewel in their crown is a Thorneycroft of about 1928 vintage. This sits under a temporary shelter rigged between two sipping containers. The great revelation to me was the way the name of the suburb of Naenae was once spelled.

I had a good time with the young people and came home again.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Paekakariki, Pauatahanui, Vehicles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April 2, 2014 … birds and buses

  1. I enjoyed the bus photos

  2. Adam Rosner says:

    Where buses go to die. Bus graveyard. Bit like that plane graveyard in Arizona or New Mexico, not sure which. now THAT would be a photographer’s paradise

Leave a Reply

