April 1, 2014 … a case where asking permission was better than seeking forgiveness

One day’s outing often leads to another.

 

Happy Valley Sheep Station

The Happy Valley Sheep station has survived for a very long time, but suffered seriously in the storm of last June

 

On my trip to Owhiro Bay the previous day, my attention was caught by an old house in some long grass near the Southern end of the road. I have seen it many times before, and thought I would like to take some shots of it. Signs at the gate prohibit unauthorised access, so I knocked on the door of the adjacent house to see if I could become “authorised”. The lady of the house came to the door and willingly gave me permission, and even pointed out some of the risks on the site such as a deep drain and a tethered goat. After I started shooting she came out again to thank me for seeking permission. It seems that most would-be photographers of this building fail to do so, and just trespass on the property..

Happy Valley dreaming

OK, so I fiddled with this a little. Among the things not visible from the road is this old Peugeot 403 which seems to have suffered a broken back and is now being swallowed by the grass.

 

A little later, the man of the house drove up and on spotting me, started to get upset. I was saved by the lady of the house who told him was OK, I had asked. After that he was very affable, though he told me how angry he gets when people take access for granted, and how trespassers are vigorously seen off. My customary diffidence about imposing on others paid off. Actually I prefer to call it simple good manners. This old house was apparently the original farmhouse in the area, part of the Happy Valley Sheep Station. It seems that trespassing is a long-standing problem and on the National Library’s site, I found an advertisement in the Evening Post of 7th May, 1886 threatening prosecution.

Black-backed gulls

Dipping their toes in the water

 

When I was done, I thanked my hosts, and went the few hundred metres down the road to see if the black-backed gulls were back. They were. Much more cautiously I got down low on the beach and enjoyed watching the birds at the edge of the surf.

Black-backed gulls in flight

Dog-inspired panic

 

And suddenly they were all in the air again. I was certain that I had not caused their panic this time, and sure enough, a woman walking her dog saw no issue about letting it run through their roosting area. I am gob-smacked at her thoughtlessness.

That’s it for today.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Birds, South Coast. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April 1, 2014 … a case where asking permission was better than seeking forgiveness

  1. I’m careful about seeking permission as well. I find I get access to many more things by doing so, and it always make me feel satisfied.

Leave a Reply

