March 29, 2014 … in pursuit of my nose

Yesterday was a “follow your nose” day.

Jervois Quay

Evening traffic is starting to build up on the Quay

I got into the car and went towards the city. On Jervois Quay, I saw from the corner of my eye, that the ice-skating rink is back at Queens Wharf.  After navigating the one-way streets I found a park on Harris Street and crossed the busy traffic on the Quay.

Skater

This young man was by far the most confident skater on the rink. Look at the wake behind his rented skates

Eventually I got to the rink. I had to laugh at the tiny rink, the only ice in Wellington, outside of a refrigerator, and compared it with descriptions from my friend who lives on the shores of lake Huron and speaks of solid ice as far as the eye can see. The equipment seemed to be really struggling to freeze the surface as skaters were leaving wakes behind them in the excess water on th rink. A pair of assistants were skating about with big rubber squeegees trying to push the unwanted water through the drain holes at the sides. Despite its shortcomings, the rink was giving its customers some fun.

The Kumutoto precinct

Tugs at rest

Walking back towards the car, I found a viewpoint that included all four of Wellington’s tugs. I haven’t seen the two older ones Toia and Ngahue move in quite a while. The building behind them is the Wellington headquarters of the Bank of New Zealand. It suffered damage to ceilings and other suspended fittings in last year’s earthquakes, though the main structure is sound. It is only just coming back into service.

IMG_84Robinson Helicopter1

“If your wings are moving, either your plane is broken, or you are in a helicopter. Either situation is dangerous”

Further along the walkway, I had a good view of one of the Helipro helicopters coming in from a  joyride. If my life absolutely depended on it, I might get into a Robinson, Because they are relatively cheap, they are in widespread use, and they seem to get pushed beyond their design limits by some operators.

Something different tomorrow.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Aviation, Sport, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

