March 18, 2014 … wings and waves

Glad tidings … the big lens came home yesterday.

House sparrow

The big lens is back in working order, so let’s get on with business

Of course I had to take it outside immediately to see that it was working. An obliging sparrow perched on a wire near the front door, and though I don’t usually do wire shots, it served the purpose. Given that unlike tree branches, transmission wires lack torsional stiffness (they can be twisted), I have often wondered about the mechanics of wire sitting. Why don’t they fall off?

Wellington harbour

Five freighters and a ferry – click to enlarge (as always) 

 

A delivery to the Ngaio area took me away from my usual haunts, and I paused as I was leaving Wadestown to put together this six-shot panorama of the harbour. It’s a bit unusual in that, leaving aside the ferry Stena Alegra at the left, there are five ships berthed along Aotea Quay, and only one of them is a container ship. It will be even more crowded today as the gigantic “Celebrity Solstice” is in town.

B777-300ER

The sheer bulk of the aircraft makes the disappearance of MH370 all the more baffling

From my bed, earlier in the morning, I had looked at the excellent iPad app, Flightradar24 and spotted an unusual visitor inbound. I thought it must have been a mistake, as the plot was identified as  a Boeing 777-300ER from HND-WLG. What?!? Triple-sevens don’t come here, and there are no scheduled services between Tokyo and Wellington, least off all from All Nippon Airways. It turns out that this is a one-off charter flight bringing a high-powered business delegation to Wellington on a trade mission. In tiny Wellington Airport, this big beautiful bird was an imposing presence. I imagine that there were a lot of empty seats as the runway is not long enough for a fully laden 777 with a full fuel load to take off.

Jetstar JQ266

Jetstar prepares to fly to Auckland

I should add that my unimpeded view across the airfield was from the upper deck of the new “Spruce Goose” restaurant at Lyall Bay. They do really good coffee, and I can see myself getting lots of coffee there in future.  There is a clear view of the apron, and the Sour=thern half of the airfield, or as our airport likes to market itself, “The Middle of Middle Earth

B737-800

Virgin Australia inbound from Brisbane

There is a nice view to the South so it will be most useful in a Northerly. The RNZAF hangar blocks the view from the restaurant’s deck to the South, but also shelters the patrons from the worst of the Northerly winds.  It certainly gave me a clear view of Virgin Australia’s Boeing B737-800  arriving from Brisbane while an Air New Zealand Link Bombardier Q300 waits for access to the runway.

Air New Zealand A-320

On balance, I like their new scheme, though with the elimination of the blue, the last visual link with TEAL … the ancestor airline is also gone.

Another plane to catch my eye was one of the most recent additions to  Air New Zealand’s Airbus A320 fleet, sporting the winglets which are on the new Airbus aircraft, and also showing off the new standard black and white colour scheme.

That will do for today.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Airport, Aviation, Birds, Maritime, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March 18, 2014 … wings and waves

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Spruce Goose – my friend Va’a is the barista there, formerly from Joe’s Garage… you and I have enjoyed his coffee before!

  2. Cliff says:

    I have a soft spot for sparrows. I love the first picture.

Leave a Reply

