March 16, 2014 … art and weather

Though it could still strike, the threatened weather has yet to hit Wellington.

Fountain in the park

This fountain spends a lot of time empty and not working

Yesterday morning, with heavy grey skies and increasingly shrill media headlines about how bad it was going to be, Mary and I went to a (mostly) outdoor art exhibition called “Shapeshifters” in Lower Hutt. It’s the kind of art that in my mind is somewhere on the line between craft and art but perhaps not meeting traditional notions of “fine art”.  It was held in the park beside the creek at the back of the library, suitably screened off to provide some sort of enclosure. Having paid our $5 admission, we followed the suggested path through the exhibits. Perhaps as an indicator of the warmth ahead of the threatened storm, kids were playing around the edges of one of the blandest civic fountains in the country.

Life imitates art

The bear has his head deep into the shade of his hoodie

As discussed previously, photographing other people’s art is not entirely respectable, unless you can make the viewing of the art a picture in its own right, different to the original art piece. This phosphor-bronze sculpture by Lucy Bucknall was called “Big Man” and was in the form of a polar bear wearing a hoodie. The young man in red is giving his own interpretation of the bear’s stance.

Head scratcher

What could it be?

My next shot incorporates a detail from a wood and steel sculpture by Mikel Durel Browne, is one of a pair called “Forest Guardians”. I thought the ponga frond behind it gave it a quizzical air that was not part of the original art.

Tied up, going nowhere

Mana Marina

At the end of the day with the weather still holding off I went to the Mana Marina at Paremata and attempted a still scene on the water. Not what I was looking for.

On the way to Wellington

Light traffic, just two cars in this train

The whistle of a train leaving Mana Station  caused me to scramble to set the tripod up again  for another slow exposure train shot.

The wind is starting to wind up now. Me too.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, creativity, Lower Hutt, Paremata, Railway, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

