March 11, 2014 … sittin’ on the dock of the bay*

None of today’s images bear any resemblance to what I set out to achieve. 

Apartments at Clyde Quay

The view from Pt Jerningham

I want to various places and when I got there, saw nothing that said “pick me, pick me”. Somewhat discouraged, I came back through the city, and from Oriental Bay made a panorama of the new apartment complex nearing completion on the site of the old Overseas Passenger Terminal, or more correctly, Clyde Quay. I notice that the company that is selling the apartments calls it “Clyde Quay Wharf”. Since “quay” means “wharf”, they are effectively calling it “Clyde Wharf Wharf”. 

Queen Victoria and Dawn Princess

Two very large carriers of self-loading cargo

Across the bay, two very large ships were in port. The Cunard liner Queen Victoria had pride of place, and the regular visitor, Dawn Princess was relegated to the space further down the quay. Between them they carry almost 4,000 passengers, and yesterday was a perfect Autumn day so I guess the cash registers rang on Lambton Quay. 

Jetski

Across the golden pathway

Perfect weather continued into the evening, and with the tolerance of my dear wife, I went out to Eastbourne to catch at least one of them as they left port. It seems to be a Cunard tradition in Wellington that they ignore posted departure times. Thirty minutes after the advertised sailing time, nothing happened, so mindful of the dinner at risk, I started  the homeward journey. I reached the pumping station at York Bay and caught a glimpse of the ship in the harbour. Conditions were hazy, but I guessed it would be clearer when the ship was further from the city. As I set the tripod up, a person riding a jet ski raced across the sun’s reflected path against the silhouette of Matiu/Somes Island. 

Queen Victoria

Outward bound en route to Port Chalmers

Eventually Queen Victoria was in clear view, though it was frustrating with out the long lens to play with. Still, it was a nice evening and I hope you enjoy the picture. The sunlit vessel behind the Queen is the Bluebridge ferry “Santa Regina” 

Today is a grey day, so let’s see what happens

* “The Dock of the Bay”  by Otis Redding and Steve Cropper

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Eastbourne, harbour, Maritime, Sunset, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March 11, 2014 … sittin’ on the dock of the bay*

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Clyde Wharf Wharf… is there an ATM machine there?

Leave a Reply

