March 8 , 2014 … sun, sand and happiness

The sun showed up, and so did I.

Wellington Harbour

Glittering sea, slight breeze, happiness all round

At Point Jerningham, the view up the harbour to the valley and to the Tararuas was a delight. Glittering water, and misty mountains  were enhanced by the yacht and the motor boat.

Ripples

The swells were so slight, I really wondered why the surfers were so optimistic

In Evans Bay, there were a few hopeful surfers, but no real surf that I saw. There was no wind so I took the risk of getting the camera down to sand-level to see this tranquil view out to the South. Nothing that way but ice.

P3 Orion

A rare visitor …. there are few facilities at Wellington to deal with the P3

Over the fence, beside the new “Spruce Goose” restaurant, adjacent to the RNZAF hangar, a P3 Orion was sitting on the runway with its APU whistling loudly.  This is a rare visitor to Wellington, and they are more usually seen at Whenuapai or Ohakea. In my young days, you could walk onto an airfield and take pictures. It is rare now that you get an unimpeded view of the aircraft. In this case I held my camera over my head and grabbed the shot over the wire fence. Without access to the viewfinder, I didn’t notice that I had amputated the Magnetic Anomaly Detector (MAD) stinger at the tail of the aircraft. That’s the bit that detects the likely presence of a submarine.

Gulls, weeds and waves

Just beyond the breaking wave wich is perhaps 30 cm high, there are two stand-up paddle boarders hoping for real surf

Back at the Western end of the beach, a pair of gulls were finding something to eat in a clump of seaweed left washed on the beach.

And that’s all I have for today

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Aviation, Birds, harbour, South Coast, Sport, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

