March 7, 2014 … from the South coast to the city

For me, South Wellington is still largely unexplored.

Kilbirnie

Lyall Bay to the right, Evans bay and the harbour to the left, with the airport and Miramar near the top

I was driving over Houghton Bay Road yesterday and stopped to look out over Lyall Bay from View road. I took a few shots then looked behind me. There was a significant hill with radio masts and a trig station on its summit. It seems to surprise many Wellingtonians to learn that we too, have a Mt Albert. I used my smartphone to see how to access it and found a  walkway leading off Hornsey Road. The views were splendid, despite the lowering clouds.

On the way to Picton

The Kaitaki leaves the discoloured water of the harbour for the deep blue-green of the Cook Strait

As I went up the slightly overgrown and somewhat slippery track, the views got better, and I looked across the harbour to Baring Head and watched the ferry Kaitaki departing for Picton.

Mt Albert, Wellington

I am unsure what kind of antennae these are or even if they are still in use. They seem old.

For some reason, the aerials and the trig are not on the highest point, and as I got closer I could look down on them. It was interesting to see the snow-capped summit of Tapuae-o-Uenuku above the distant clouds (look above the v-shaped notch on the right of the picture).

Graffiti

I don’t want to encourage this sort of thing but it was somehow visually appealing

Near the aerials there is a water tank, presumably part of the town supply, and like anything hidden from the public eye, it is covered with graffiti. I am generally negative towards graffiti in all its manifestations, but somehow the shape and balance and colours caught my eye.

Observation post

The field of view is from Baring Head to Arapawa ISland

Just past the trig, and also covered with graffiti was an old military observation post (there is barely room for two or three people so it is obviously not a gun emplacement). The only records I found suggest it was of WWII vintage. I am puzzled as to what an observer would do if any enemy activity was seen from there.

Newtown from the South

This is a novel view of the city for me.

From the Western side of the hill there is a nice view back up Adelaide Road through Newtown, with the University up on the hill to the left and the high-rise buildings of the CBD to the right.

State Insurance Building

For a while this big black marble-clad building had the nickname “Darth Vader’s pencil box”

Speaking of those, I met a good friend for lunch and as we came out I liked the textures of the big black building originally built for BNZ and now named for State Insurance.

That’s the day done.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Cook Strait, Maritime, South Coast, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March 7, 2014 … from the South coast to the city

  1. There is quite a good walk (3hours) from O Pde to Island Bay via Mt Albert. One can then catch the bus back to O Pde.

Leave a Reply

