March 6, 2014 … mad March days*

Our climate is like a washing machine.

Across the harbour entrance

Wild weather

It spins through various cycles, sometimes three or four different ones in a day. Yesterday began really rough. Interisland ferries and some flights were cancelled. Of course the South coast was the place to go. From the Western end of Lyall Bay, this view across to Pencarrow shows the wind beating the waves flat. Already this was well past the peak of the storm. If you click to enlarge this image and look closely at the rocks on the left, you will see the Bluebridge ferry Santa Regina struggling to make it safely into the harbour. As far as I know she was the first one to attempt the crossing for the day and this was around mid-day.

Grumpy gulls

I am not sure why this spot was chosen but they were huddled down below the wind, perhaps.

I drove along the coast towards Owhiro bay, stopping now and then to allow clean-up crews to clear seaweed and driftwood from the road. I was amused by this gaggle of red-billed gulls (Larus novaehollandiae) grumpily waiting for the storm to abate.

Foam and rocks

Even in flat calm conditions when they are dry, those rocks are mean and you don’t want to make forceful contact with them

Coming back through Houghton Bay, I was impressed at the combination of vicious rocks and heavy ocean swells. This is a washing machine I would not wish to be in.

Pacific Pearl sets sail

She can carry 1,800 passengers and I bet a good number of them went a bit green before she got to Picton

And around Palmer Head, the P&O cruise liner, Pacific Pearl was coming though the heads bound for Picton. Interestingly, there was no pilot-boat to relieve them of the pilot, so I am guessing that the pilot would be flown back or catch the next ferry. She had been in port for almost two days which is very unusual for a cruise liner, but perhaps they wanted to protect their passengers from the worst of the storm.

That’s it for today.

* from “Cargoes” by John Masefield. 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Cook Strait, Lyall Bay, South Coast, Waves, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

