March 5, 2014 … pancakes and raindrops

Shrove Tuesday is traditionally time to use up all the luxuries before Lent.

On the pan

The blue flame under the pan turns a few simple ingredients, flour, water, milk and egg into something delicious

At least that’s the historical reason behind Shrove Tuesday, or Mardi Gras as it is in some countries. Time for a feast before the forty days of austerity.  I’m not so good at the austerity but I still love pancakes, especially the simple home-made ones. The grandchildren were coming down after school, so Mary mixed the batter and left me to cook them. I love pancakes, Our recipe follows the British tradition and produces paper thin and quite large pancakes that cook quite quickly.

It's all in the wrist

In some cultures, it’s very rude to refer to someone as a tosser. In this context, well, perhaps …

In my experience the only way to cook the other side is to toss the pancakes. Any attempt to turn them manually usually results in disaster, so it’s a skill I have acquired. The photo above is the first guest image to have appeared in WYSIWYGPurple. Though I set the camera, up I couldn’t do the flip and shoot the image so youngest son Anthony pressed the shutter and caught the action well. He also helped to eat them. I always enjoy my pancakes with a good squeeze of lemon juice and a sprinkle of sugar, and stay away from ice cream or golden syrup. Most of my pleasures are simple.

Marina in the rain

Stillness as the rain falls

In the afternoon, after a day of fairly steady drizzle, I went down to Seaview Marina, and sheltering the camera with an umbrella, made a slow exposure of the yachts at their moorings.

Ferry at Days Bay

Under a grey sky on a grey sea the ferry makes its way to shore

At Day’s bay, there were some slow swells slapping on the beach, but the water was otherwise fairly flat. The Day’s Bay Ferry was inbound from Matiu/Somes Island. so in this next slow exposure, it and a few waves are the only things moving.

Pensive walker

This seemed like a deep and meditative walk

The rain kept falling, the waves kept rolling and the evening was still, except for the young lady with the umbrella. It would have been good if her umbrella were bright red, and I did experiment with altering it, but in the end, opted for the sombre truth.

And then the weather went bad.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Children, Food, harbour, Maritime, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March 5, 2014 … pancakes and raindrops

  1. Cath says:

    Damn…..missed them again!

Leave a Reply

