March 4, 2014 … a constrained point of view

Withdrawal symptoms are setting in already.

Wellington City from Pt Jerningham

If you look closely at the nearby rocks on the full screen version you will see that their already ferocious surface is made even more threatening by a plentiful growth of sharp mussel shells. Since I can fall on flat sand and a concrete path, I was nervous

I sent my damaged long zoom lens off to Canon yesterday, and feel as if I have lost an arm. On the other hand, it forces me to rediscover my somewhat atrophied ability to see things from other perspectives. After taking the lens to the courier, I carried on into Wellington and stopped at Pt Jerningham. I had in mind to get a low-level wide-angle view of the harbour. I clambered through the white-painted wooden fence and down on to the mussel-covered rocks below. My abrasions from the mishap of the previous day reminded me sharply of the need for caution as to where I put my feet. Somewhat tentatively I got to the edge of the shell-covered outcrop and tried several shots, and decided in the end, that this was the best of them. It’s not what I had in mind, but the sun was too bright to allow a slow exposure. The wide angle lens diameter is just too big (82 mm)  for my neutral density filter (77 mm), so I had to rely on the camera’s native ability and this was the outcome. Click to enlarge to see it properly.

Gear wheel, Evans Bay Patent Slip

Engineering displayed as art

From there, I went to the old Patent Slip site, now called “Cog Park” at Greta Point on Evans Bay. A few parts of the old mechanism are artfully displayed in the park, with little resemblance to their configuration when they were still in use. Nevertheless, they are a poignant reminder of the days when traffic could be stopped while a ship crossed the road.

Gear wheel at Cog Park

Contrary to popular belief, and despite the name of the park, the big round thing is not a cog, it’s a gear wheel. You can see the top face of twelve cogs on this gear wheel with more around the rest of its circumference. Each “tooth” is a cog.

The big gear wheel which was used to wind the cradle up and down the slipway was interesting. Its spokes  have tapered slots, lined with wood, and projections from the wheel fit inside the slots. I am guessing, but I suspect that the wood served as a shock absorber to isolate the slip cable from the pulsing of the steam engine that turned the wheel.

Rainbow over the Hutt Valley

Taken from our front doorstep … nice double rainbow and dramatic clouds over the Eastern Hills

We are about to be blessed with some very rough weather, with winds to 120 km/h and rain. Last evening the sky warned us of the impending change , but suddenly there was a rainbow, or even two rainbows.

Nothing more today.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Art, Lower Hutt, Machinery, Maritime, Normandale, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March 4, 2014 … a constrained point of view

  1. Lawrence Herzog says:

    We are all just cogs in the big wheel of life! I have always been a sucker for those shots of exceptional contrast when the sun is lighting the foreground with darkling clouds in the distance. Your rainbow shot captures the drama perfectly.

Leave a Reply

