March 2, 2014 … following my nose

Newtown is not a place I visit often.

Asian Market, Newtown

I can’t read most of the labels here, but the smell is wonderful

You could say it is the business and retail centre of Southern Wellington. It is thirty to forty minutes by road from home, and almost always requires a tedious negotiation of the traffic near the hospital, or in Adelaide Road or Riddiford Street.  It is however a place of retail treasures and cultural diversity. Mary wanted a very specific kind of tea (Yunnan chi tse beeng cha) and we figured the most likely place to obtain it was the Asian Market in Newtown. Alas the journey was unsuccessful, but as always, I love the smells of Asian markets. I can’t reproduce them here, but perhaps the colours may substitute.

Fishing expedition.

It is a closed area, and fish may be taken on hand held lines only.

In the afternoon I followed my nose in a different way and that led me to Pukerua Bay as the sun was getting low in the sky. Families were picnicking on the gravelly beach, and a father and son were heading out in their kayaks for some fishing.

Kapiti

I like those two little clouds

The water was remarkably still given that the harbour at Pauatahanui was very ruffled as I passed through. Kapiti Island sits out there on the horizon.

Pukerua Bay

Tranquility

 

Around to the West, I would normally expect a glimpse of the Sounds at the tip of the South Island from here. I guess that there was a lot of haze further out.  Not bad for the first day of Autumn.

Today is beautiful too.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Food, Landscapes, Light, Pukerua Bay, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

