February 28, 2014 … terns and cicada

My trip to Australia was an abject failure.

White-fronted tern

Lots of glare off the water

At least, it was a failure with respect to birds. In all other aspects, it was a delight and I had a great time. And even the failure to see the birds, except for the kookaburra and a tern, was the result of my own inertia. I just didn’t go looking.  Well it was time to fill the void yesterday so I went out to the Miramar Peninsula. For a while I thought I would be disappointed. However, at Point Gordon, a cluster of rocks between Mahanga Bay and Scorching Bay, there was a small flock of white-fronted terns.

Landing

“Make a hole”

Though there were many possible rocks to choose from, most were rejected and the flock settled on one apparently undistinguished cluster just offshore. It was crowded, and there were frequent comings and goings. I find it difficult to be ready for a departure. They just seem to leap into the air from a sleeping state. Even the arrivals seem to teleport into the vicinity pf the rock from another dimension, so in-flight tern shots involve a great deal of luck and a lot of exposures that miss.

Rising water level

You swine! You promised me a seaside holiday! I didn’t expect the room to be flooded!

Some birds unable to find a place on the chosen rock, settle on neighbouring outcrops and I was amused at the indignation of the second bird  in this image as a wave washed over their perilous refuge.

Terns

Stena Alegra passes in the background

It was a warm day with a moderate Northerly breeze, and a pleasant day to cross the Strait. In the background the heavy rumble of her four big diesel engines alerted me to the passage of the Stena Alegra inbound from Picton.

Chorus cicada

They sing best in still hot conditions

In the afternoon, Maggie and Cooper were coming to our house after school until their parents could pick them up, so I walked up the road to meet them. As I said, it was a warm day and the Cicadas were on full song.

And that’s all I have today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, insects, Maritime, Miramar. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February 28, 2014 … terns and cicada

Leave a Reply

