February 25, 2014 … coming to the end of the day

The day got off to a relatively slow start.

Luna Park, Melbourne

Ugly as it is, Luna Park enjoys iconic status and has been here since 1922

Other than yesterday’s blog, nothing of photographic relevance, other than the compilation of yesterday’s blog, was achieved in the morning. I had a very pleasant lunch with a very dear friend in St Kilda. She was delayed so I wandered around the village for a while and did a daytime reprise of the classic front entrance of Luna Park.

Southern Cross Station, Melbourne

It used to be just “Spencer Street Station” but they gave it a big facelift, a new roof, and some marketing. It is the hub of interstate and rural services as well as a busy commuter station

Easy and cheap access to trains was the main factor in the afternoon’s activities. Southern Cross Station’s extraordinary roofline continues to intrigue me, and this view from the Spencer Street entrance shows a row of trains ready to disperse across the state to places like Ballarat, Bendigo, Warnambool, Traralgon, or beyond.

Passing scenery

In this morning’s Age newspaper, people are complaining about the state of their carriages. The graffiti which covers the walls and is scratched on the glass windows is not the fault of the railway company. It is the work of a few brainless idiots who live in this otherwise beautiful city.

I wanted to be back in St Kilda in the early evening and after that long lunch, decided to confine myself to the metropolitan journeys. I chose to travel towards Frankston, and got as far as Moorabbin before I decided this was an unproductive trip. I jumped off and got the next train back to the city. I found it hard to get excited about views of Melbourne’s backyards, so did some experimenting with motion-capture.

Crowds in Federation Square, Melbourne

With each change of the crossing lights hundreds more people were pouring in.

Back in the city I passed by Federation Square where there was a large crowd of mainly young people watching the filming of the popular Korean TV show, “Running Man” (apparently similar to “the Amazing Race“) .

There were at least eight ships mainly tankers and bulk carriers waiting a berth. Container ships, car carriers and passenger ships seemed to have an easier passage.

After dinner in the evening, I noticed that the sun was nearing the horizon and the light was very interesting. The container ship, Cosco Santos threaded its way up the harbour bypassing other ships at anchor.

IMG_4620-Edit-Edit

Out at the end of St Kilda Pier, I compiled a six shot stitched panorama of the city in the warm evening light. Note the bright orange kite of someone surfing at the beach.

End of the day

The sun sets behind the Brisbane Ranges (which, despite their name, are in the state of Victoria)

And then, there was the sunset. The nearest land on the right is at Williamstown. The map suggests to me that the distant hills could be the Brisbane Ranges National Park. I was careful not to look at the sun through the view finder. The stick like object to the left of the sun is some sort of navigational aid or channel marker related to the port. I contemplated removing it and decided against it.

Today is my last full day here, so I had better make the most of it.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Festivals and fairs, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Melbourne, Railway. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February 25, 2014 … coming to the end of the day

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Go up to the top of the Eureka tower and do “the Edge” …. if you dare! Then on a more serious note, read the history of the area and why there are red features on the building. Then go to the basement carpark and admire the single-point perspective paintings on the walls/floors/ceilings

Leave a Reply

