February 22, 2014 … the journey is more important than the destination

There was no definite plan when I set out yesterday.

trackside dwelling

The slightly anarchic result of living in a vast open landscape

A vague intention to go to the butterfly house at Melbourne zoo got pushed to one side when I passed through Southern Cross station and saw the regional trains sitting ready to go places. The one that was scheduled to go next was bound for Marshall, so I used my trusty Myki ticket and jumped on. Marshall was a disappointment. Two stops past Geelong, it seems from the station to offer no attraction to dismount. So I didn’t and stayed on the train for the return journey. I have some regret, in hindsight, because a few hundred metres back up the line there were extensive wetlands with lots of birds. I hadn’t seen them on the way in because I was looking from the other side of the train. Fortunately, I like train journeys, and a bit of post-processing helps to clear up the results of shooting through the window. Australian landscapes differ markedly from those in New Zealand. Even the trackside dwellings have a distinctly Australian character.

Disused factory buildings near Geelong

How many people sweated their working lives in these somewhat grim surroundings?

Geelong has extensive industrial areas, not all of which seem to be in current use. In the grey overcast that has been present for much of my stay here, these old buildings seem to be disused and very interesting.

open landscape

“with golden soil and wealth for toil …”

In the area of open country between Geelong and Werribee, the dryness of the land was easy to see despite the fact that it had rained heavily the previous day.

Southern Cross Station, Melbourne

It’s taken me a while to come round, but I am now quite impressed with the design of the station’s roof. The train sliding by reflects its curving beams.

Back in Southern Cross station, I decided to pursue my original intention so transferred to the local section of the station to await a train on the Upfield line. I played around with slow exposures of the moving trains and liked this shot with its contrast between the stationary safety marking on the platform and the aluminium and glass blur of the train. The stations distinctive serpentine roof structure is reflected in the windows.

Butterfly - Cairns birdwing

The very colourful Cairns birdwing (Ornithoptera euphorion) at rest

It was late in the afternoon when I arrived at the zoo, and the lady in the kiosk seemed anxious that I wouldn’t have time to see all the animals. She still took the full admission price from me, but I knew what I had come to see, so headed straight across the zoo to the butterfly house. Of course there were many varieties of butterfly in the enclosure, and quite a few children. Naturally little children want to reach out and touch. It may be that in an enclosure such as this, or even in the wild, butterflies are easily damaged, and a few of them seemed quite ragged.

Butterfly in flight

I didn’t get an identification, but was delighted to catch it in flight

Nevertheless some were undamaged, and I was very pleased to capture a few shots of the butterfly in flight.

Galah

For some reason, the name Galah was used by an older generation of Australians to mean a stupid person. These two were keen on making love, not war, and that doesn’t seem too stupid.

When the zoo closed, I walked out towards the nearest tram line, and in a tree outside the zoo, was delighted to see this amorous pair of Galah, the rosy cockatoo (Eolophus roseicapilla)  enjoying each other’s company.

That’s all for the day.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Australia, Birds, Industrial, Landscapes, Melbourne. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February 22, 2014 … the journey is more important than the destination

  1. Am enjoying the Aussie blog. Thanks Brian

Leave a Reply

