February 20, 2014 … unguided purposeless wandering

I am still in Melbourne, enjoying myself.

East Footscray station

The vista in all directions from here was equally harsh and (to my eyes) barren. Yet it is home to many. Not a place to which tourists come, I think.

It’s a city I like very much, but that may be because, like most tourists, I have stayed in its better areas. Yesterday I used my electronic “Myki” card to take trams and trains at random, and ended up in East Footscray. There will be people for whom Footscray is home, and I don’t mean to offend them, but it was a scary place. It reminded me of the way the movies portray the cities in “enemy” territory.

Melbourne "off-peak" tram

Melbourne has a large fleet of mostly modern trams, but for much of the day they are uncomfortably crowded and at times ridiculously so.

On a tram back to St Kilda, I reached the conclusion that those advocating trams or light rail for Wellington are in love with a concept that is nowhere near as pleasant  as their dream. This was early afternoon, long before rush hour.

St Kilda Pier

Once the venue for a royal visit and gathering place for high society, it is now much more mundane

I got back to the house just as the sky darkened and a thunderstorm began. Heavy rain followed. It persisted. Then it eased, so I put the storm jacket on the camera and went out to grab some shots. I wandered along the St Kilda waterfront. The old pier was once a gathering place for the city’s rich and famous. Now it seems to be a refuge for penguins and a haven for people fishing.

High rise buildings

The whole city is freshly washed by the storm just passed.

From there, now that the rain had stopped, there was a clean fresh view back to the city.

Tern, fishing

About the same size as a Caspian tern this has darker body colour and a yellow bill.

Oh, and there was a tern which I think to be the crested tern (Sterna bergii) on the basis of its large size, full dark cap and bright yellow bill.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Maritime, Melbourne. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to February 20, 2014 … unguided purposeless wandering

  1. Once stayed at Footscray in the Vietnamese part. Quite safe.

  2. Ellen says:

    Purposeful wandering … try the Federation Square book market on Saturday morning. Magic place!

Leave a Reply

