February 18, 2014 … sic transit gloria Monday*

Well here I am in Melbourne, guests of my elder daughter Catherine and her husband Mark.

Goodbye Wellington

Heading Westward from Wellington to Melbourne

It was a beautiful summer day in Wellington, and since we have had so few it was almost a shame to leave it. On the other hand there is no shortage of such in the big brown land. As we climbed out of Wellington I could see the Porirua Harbour and the Pauatahanui inlet to the right of the picture.  See you at the end of the month.

The outer edges of the Marlborough Sounds

Impossible to know these places except by boat

Soon we were over the Marlborough Sounds which looked amazing. If I recall correctly they were formed by some ice age in ancient times.

Australia

I have no idea what happens in Moe

After that there were three hours of uninterrupted white cloud so the window shade was lowered and I enjoyed the food and movies on offer in the front end of the Qantas aircraft. Truth to tell, I lost interest in the movies and chose to shut them down to read a book on my iPad.  Then it was time to descend and with the shades now open the dry landscape below was fascinating. This is the town of Moe in Gippsland, Victoria.

Cardinia Reservoir

I plan to repeat a favourite journey of mine by going on the Puffing Billy … a narrow gauge steam railway that traverses the northern shore to Emerald and Gembrook

Before long a few familiar landmarks appeared and there was the Cardinia Reservoir, a spectacular lak just to the West of the Dandenong Ranges.

Southern Star

This is intended to be Melbourne’s version of the London Eye. Unfortunately, when first erected, it cracked in the intense heat of the Victorian summer. Now rebuilt, it has yet to attract the promised customers to the nearby shopping precinct

Electronic passports and an honest face (borrowed for the occasion) got me through the whole immigration and customs thing in just a few minutes. The longest part of the process was waiting for the baggage carousel to cough up my suitcase. I got a ride from there with Mark who works at the airport.  I see that the trouble prone giant ferris wheel, the “Southern Star” is once again open for business, though not attracting the customers that were intended.

Luna Park

A local fun fair/carnival

Catherine and Mark live in St Kilda which is a very pleasant seaside suburb.  I had to go out to the supermarket to get some items that are not normally part of their diet, passing Melbourne’s Luna Park, all closed and dark for the night.

Acland Street cakes

Get thee behind me, Satan

In Acland Street, there are an amazing number of cake shops and though I have yet to succumb, the windows full of “heart-attack-on-a-plate” confections are amazing.

A bright day ahead

* from the latin which correctly should read “sic transit gloria mundi” … thus passes the glory of the world.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Aviation, Family, Food, Melbourne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

