February 16, 2014 … all’s fair on Jackson Street

Crowds are not my thing.

Jackson Street fair

This was taken after the fair had been going all day and the fair was bout to close. People were reluctant to leave. Two rows of stalls were set up down the centre-line for the length of Jackson Street.

I like to mingle with people in very small numbers, and on some occasions am content to be in just my own company. Until now I have always avoided the annual Jackson Street fair for exactly that reason.  Yesterday, while driving down Cuba Street, Petone, crossing Jackson Street, I realised the sheer scale of this community fair, and what a visual opportunity I was bypassing.

Something for everyone

People seemed to be ready to spend money.

To be clear, I don’t disapprove of the fair, and think it is a good thing that people get out and enjoy themselves. I just don’t necessarily want to participate myself. I found myself being won over, or at least having my resistance eroded. With so many happy people about it would be perverse not to start smiling yourself.  It’s one of those occasions that brings out all the diversity in our city, and is, despite myself, a joy to see.

Fairground ride

These rides were getting customers right until the 4pm deadline when the fair closed and the clean-up began

The truck-mounted fairground rides used at the festival in the beginning of February had obviously not gone very far because there was one of the rides at pretty much each significant intersection.

Food stall

Jackson Street is a foodies’ street at the best of times. This is not haute cuisine but there was a steady line waiting to be served.

There were food stalls which were doing brisk business though the food was to a large extent deep-fried, and not always of the kind that would make a dietician happy.

face painting

She was just as serious before I pointed my camera at her

Little children enjoyed getting face-painting done, or at least I think they do. This one is taking it pretty seriously. The picture was taken with the permission of the girl’s mother. Such a solemn little face.

Pacifica fabrics

Lively colours

There were stalls selling almost everything, much of it cheap rubbish, and much of it far to gaudy for  a conservative old coot like me.  But the colours are nice to look at even if I have no personal use for them.

More crowds tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Children, Festivals and fairs, Food, Petone. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February 16, 2014 … all’s fair on Jackson Street

  1. Cliff says:

    I love the face painting one! I also like the scarves, which hark back (for me) to one of your early Facebook images, which was a mosaic of similar brightly coloured images.

  2. Stuart Reid says:

    Dear Sir or Madam,
    We are a community group setting out to create a “must see” feature for the village of Petone, near Wellington, NZ. It’s heritage is young, but still needs protection.
    We want to show how other cities protect and enhance heritage, as you show in your web site images.
    We would like to use one of your Petone Fair images for our draft booklet
    May we have your permission to do so?
    Stuart Reid
    266 Normandale Rd,
    Lower Hutt City, NZ
    ++64 027 240 9691

Leave a Reply

