February 13, 2014 … salt in the veins

At one stage in my youth, I thought of seeking a cadetship in the merchant marine.

Cruise liners in port

It was a very pleasant day in the city and a change from the wet and grey of recent days

I never followed up on it, but my love of ships and the sea has never waned. As I have said before I am ambivalent about cruise liners, but though I have no plan to take a cruise, I reluctantly concede that they are an imposing presence. Yesterday two of them were in Wellington, the Holland-America line’s Oosterdam, and the Dawn Princess, operated by Princess Cruises.  Modern cruise ships are far too deep for the old Overseas Passenger Terminal (which is now an apartment complex anyway), so they berth at Aotea Quay in front of the container berths. It is a ten minute walk from there to the shops on Lambton Quay, or a 15 minute bus ride taking account of traffic lights.

Josephine Maersk

“Will you walk a little faster?” said a whiting to a snail. “There’s a porpoise close behind us, and he’s treading on my tail. (The Lobster Quadrille, by Lewis Carroll)

Mary was in Napier overnight so I was at a loose end in the evening. Having checked Centreport’s web site, I saw that the Dawn Princess was due to leave at 7:30 pm. A golden opportunity presented itself to get some fish and chips and head out to Eastbourne to capture this evening departure. I was in place a good half hour early and watched other comings and goings. In this case, the Josephine Maersk, a 30,000 Tonne container ship capable of carrying just over 3,000 twenty-foot containers was inbound for a brief stop. I suspect that they were laterally separated, but that poor little local-market trawler looks as if it is being crowded. In the background, Jetstar flight JQ260 climbs out of Rongotai, bound for Auckland.

Dawn Princess

Emerging from the salt mist across the harbour

A few minutes after 7:30, the great bulk of the Dawn Princess (77,500 GT) materialized through the salt haze behind Pt Halswell and was very soon turning to head out through the heads. I was intrigued to see that there was a movie showing on the huge theatre-sized screen just ahead of the funnel. I guess the passengers were too jaded to appreciate the beauty of the landscape around them.

Dawn Princess (2)

Bound for Akaroa in a golden glow

As she progressed down the channel, the dawn Princess was enveloped in a golden glow against the sun.  I liked it.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in harbour, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February 13, 2014 … salt in the veins

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Impressive. I think the one with the A320 on initial climb is my favourite.

Leave a Reply

