February 12, 2014 … at the end of the day

Landscapes were my intention yesterday.

Petone foreshore

The wharf is nicely silhouetted against the glitter of the sea

It didn’t really work out. I went over to Moore’s Valley but despite the general pleasantness of the scene, I saw nothing that said to me “this is a picture”. In desperation I grabbed shots of some Alpacas, and even some feral rabbits, but no, it was a largely fruitless trip.  Coming back over the hill, the glitter of sun on the harbour near the Petone foreshore looked interesting, so I took it.

City lights

The light in the sky is the last light of day … despite the bad weather, this is, after all, summer.

Then it was time for dinner, followed by the first clubnight of the year for the camera club. That went extraordinarily well, with the biggest turnout we have had in years, but when that ended at around 9:30, I was still conscious of the void in my images for the day. The wind had abated quite a lot, so I went out to Point Howard where a bunch of fishermen were sitting huddled in their puffer jackets, trying to get some fish to augment the family table. They have their hobby, I have mine, and no doubt we all thought each other a little crazy as I set up my tripod to catch the glow of city lights across the harbour.

Seaview marina (1)

Judging by the cars in the marina car park, a lot of owners sleep on their boats

On the way to Point Howard I had seen the water inside the breakwater at the marina was nicely still so went back there.  Several previous images had been taken here, so I tried for different points of view. The first one is on the expensive and perhaps better lit side.

Seaview marina (2)

Looking down on the marina from up there must be nice, if you can shut out the oil tanks and scrap metal yards a few hundred metres away.

Next, I went round to the less developed part of the marina nearer to the road, with the houses at Point Howard as a backdrop.

I really must stop waiting until the end of the day, though I think I got away with it this time.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in harbour, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Seaview, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February 12, 2014 … at the end of the day

  1. Toya says:

    I think you do some of your best work at night! The middle two images are stunning!

Leave a Reply

