February 3, 2014 … out for a spin

Variety was yesterday’s flavour.

American Cars

This is perhaps 20% of the cars on show spread around the public spaces of the racecourse

I began at the Trentham racecourse where there was a show of American muscle cars. I expected polished cars and lots of chrome. That was there in abundance, but I felt out of place amongst the car community. They definitely march to a different drummer. I am not cut out to be a “petrol-head” though I admire the workmanship in the cars.

Cadillac Coupe de Ville, 1956

Beautifully presented

A beautifully restored 1956 Cadillac Coupe de Ville was the first vehicle to catch my eye.

If not twins then close relatives

Sorry I was taking little notice of individual cars

Then there were a pair of mid-fifties beauties which I noticed more for the colour contrast between them.

Holden Monaro - in chrome

Magnificent

Technically the next one didn’t belong, as the Holden Monaro is Australian, not American. The all chrome finish was absolutely immaculate, and despite being an obvious magnet for fingerprints, it was pristine.

C847 with the throttle open

If only he had put the light on

Having decided to move on, I was driving down the Eastern Hutt Road near Silverstream when I spotted the column of black smoke mingled with white steam that could signify just one thing, a working steam locomotive. Sure enough it was open day at the Silverstream, and C847 was operating a regular trip up and back the 1.5 km length of the museum’s track. With permission, I crossed the rails and walked up the track to a spot where I knew there would be a good view of the locomotive blasting its way out of the station. The one disappointment for me was that the locomotive driver forgot to switch his headlight on.

Enjoying the concert in the sun

The music was very loud

From there I went to Te Whiti Park in Lower Hutt where the festival Te Ra o Raukura was being held. This annual festival is focused on health, art, education and music with a  special emphasis on Maori. Typically it attracts up to 20,000 people and if the weather cooperates as it did this year, people sit in the sun and listen to live music acts, and enjoy the many craft and food stalls as well as the amusements.

Spinning

I find myself looking for a paper bag

This year was the biggest the festival has ever been and it was run over two days. The rides were bigger and brighter than ever, and I was drawn to the “Hurricane”.  This takes people around the centre pole in cars that rise and fall as the ride rotates. Given my tendency to travel sickness I wouldn’t dream of buying a ride. I took multiple shots and then used a Photoshop function to sandwich several of them together to produce a composite. Well I like it.

And that’s the day.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Cars, Lower Hutt, Machinery, Railway, Reflections, Silverstream, Trentham. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February 3, 2014 … out for a spin

  1. Ellen says:

    I like your playful version of the Hurricane as well. I think I would be anxious if my grandchildren were on it and likely to have visions of them flying off into space.

Leave a Reply

