January 30, 2014 … counting my blessings

I have much to be grateful for.

High on the list are our six beautiful grandchildren, of whom two have been staying with us for the last few nights. Having them here tends to bring different and often chaotic elements into the day’s agenda. Mary was at work yesterday morning, so after I pried their iPads from the children, we went up to the local playground to get some oxygen.

Dandelions

… on death row, about to be cut down in their prime

On the way, we passed a lady mowing the berm outside her house. I noticed that she was turning a colourful expanse of dandelions into neat but bland green lawn. I dropped prone to get the worm’s eye view of the flowers before they were mowed. The lady may have been briefly worried that an ambulance was required, but I bounced back.

Maggie swings

She’s moving fast

The children are still young enough to enjoy swings, and I took the opportunity to try some blur shots … a bit tricky to avoid them merely looking like I got the shutter speed wrong, but I like the blur.

Maggie

One of our lovely grandchildren

Back at home, Maggie, having had her hair in plaits overnight in order to introduce some waves to her normally straight hair,  was persuaded to pose for me. You can see why she, and the other children bring joy to my heart.

Fantail

Piwakawaka or fantail … they flit about and I find I get more empty photographs than hits

In the late afternoon, a quick circuit of Pauatahanui Inlet was mostly without success though I like this delightful little fantail. Lots of people are unaware of the fine set of whiskers they have.

Southern sky

As a friend commented, “the wind child with his paint brush”

My last shot of the day was taken when I was cajoled into taken a walk for exercise. From Poto road at the top of our hill, the Southern sky was striking and it looked even better through the viewfinder than with the naked eye.

That’s my quota for the day.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Children, Family, Landscapes, Normandale, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 30, 2014 … counting my blessings

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Great pic of Maggie on the swing. I like this one the most out of the ones you posted today!

  2. What a beautiful photo of your granddaughter! How well you have captured her smile!

Leave a Reply

