January 29, 2014 … around the peninsula

Sunshine returns.

IMG_1374White fronted tern

For some reason, I am reminded of Sid the sloth, from “Ice Age” whose family moved on but didn’t tell Sid. 

On the other hand the terns seem to have gone back to wherever they were. A solitary bird remained on that decaying wharf in Evans Bay.

Little shag

Handsome bird

As a friend observed, there are too many people at Scorching Bay for them to have shifted their roost to there. On the other hand, a little shag was sitting on a rock nearby watching me cautiously.  The little shag is distinguished from the pied shag by its smaller size and by its stubby beak.

San Antonino

This is typical of the trawlers that serve the domestic market around Wellington

On the way back round the Peninsula I spotted this sturdy little fishing boat coming into Evans Bay. She is the San Antonino, and I believe her to be owned by the Muollo family, one of the long-established Italian families of Island bay. I am not sure if it was the same boat or a predecessor of the same name that was involved in the rescue of passengers from the stricken Wahine in that dreadful storm on 10 April, 1968.

Shelly Bay

A new coastal forest

Passing through Shelly Bay, I observed that the derelict wharves that were once part of the flying boat base seem to have sprouted a veritable forest. Wind-blown seedlings have established themselves, but they surely can’t be deep-rooted.

That’s the day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Evans Bay, harbour, Maritime, Miramar, Plant life, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

