January 27, 2014 … “my roof’s got a hole in it and I might drown”*

“Oh no don’t let the rain come down”*.

Bird bath splashes

The rain has almost stopped but still has the odd downpour up its sleeve

I had forgotten the Serendipity Singers, and I used to like them a lot, back in 1964. Anyway, in sharp contrast to the previous sunny day, the rain came down in almost unbelievable quantities yesterday. At one stage there was accompanying high wind so the water was flying past the window at a 45 degree angle. Happily it eased off, but didn’t stop, so as the day was running out of light, I set out for some rain shots. The first one was in the bird bath right by the front door.

Roses on the memorial

The roses will pass, but the memories linger

At Sladden Park,  Te Omanga hospice has a garden of memories. Of course it was deserted when I was there, but someone had left some roses on the memorial and they had been thoroughly beaten up in the downpour.

Yacht berths

Summer, they say, but the boats are still tied up, and the rain still falls

At the Seaview Marina, I was looking for water effects, but was attracted to the various colours of the sail protection material. At least for this shot I didn’t need to get out, shooting instead through the open window of the car. There’s that 45 degree rain again, though in far less volume than earlier.

House sparrows

Finding a space in the waiting room

Back home, Mary had relocated her bird feeder and it is now ideally placed for shooting from a downstairs bedroom window as the birds perch on the flax waiting their chance to catch or create a vacant spot at the feeder. The Sparrows were there in great numbers, despite the still persistent rain.

Well, I didn’t drown, and the rain has stopped.

*”Oh no don’t let the rain come downby the Serendipity Singers, 1964

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Light, Maritime, Seaview, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

