January 26, 2014 … hot time at the coast

As I said, I had a wedding to shoot yesterday.

Mouth of the Otaki River

Recreational variety

I’ll regard the wedding images as private, and move on. It was at Otaki Beach, and uncertain of the locations, I chose to arrive early. The locations were very easy to find, so with time to spare, I went to the mouth of the Otaki River and ate my lunch by the water. The weather was ridiculously fine, bordering on “stinking hot” at 28°C. I think Wellington might have made it to 21°C. While I was eating, I watched families fishing, swimming and playing in the river. I am not sure that those activities are compatible, but nobody seemed worried by anyone else. Across the water, Kapiti Island looked enticing.

Waterfowl at Otaki Beach

Bird variety

A little back from the river is a lagoon of sorts which seems a haven for water fowl.  I shall return there and set up my hide and spend a day there at some future time. The numbers of birds was astonishing, and there were many varieties.

Invincible youth

The shimmering along the skyline tells you it was warm

Since it was getting near time to set up for the wedding, I walked back along the dusty road to my car and heard an angry hornet behind me. Actually it was just a helmet-less youth racing down to the beach on his motorcycle.  He was followed soon after by another youngster on a motor scooter … sealed roads are fine, but the inherent instability of most scooters makes them unsuited for rough rural roads, and this guy was bouncing from ridge to ridge and occasionally bottoming out in the troughs. Again, no helmet.

Bikes at the beach

Additional variety to the ways the beach is used

They met up down by the river mouth again.

That’s all for the day.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Otaki, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 26, 2014 … hot time at the coast

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Brave, going out with your cameras before a commissioned job and using up some of your battery capacity and memory card space!

    • Adam, it was a volunteer job at a consciously low-key wedding. I had cards for Africa and a complete spare battery set … both cameras have double packs which were fully charged and in my experience they are good for over 800 exposures apiece … so it was an unlikely difficulty.

Leave a Reply

