January 18, 2014 … in the morning sun

A bright still morning means head for the water.

Chestnuts

Spiky little devils aren’t they?

But first there was a technology problem to be fixed at Mary’s work. While I was waiting for her to emerge from a meeting, I wandered the gardens. A chestnut tree was heavily laden, and the spiky nuts seemed like a subject.

Raindrops on roses

… and warm woollen mittens

Despite the bright sun the dew from the previous evening still lingered and added jewels to the rose garden. The technology problem was fixed, and off I went to Pauatahanui.

For the first time in ages I sat in my collapsible hide at the side of the still water. No birds came close, and I am still noticing a near total absence of kingfishers. The swans and geese and a pair of Caspian terns were just too far away to make good images, but it was a simple pleasure just to sit and be still in such a perfect setting.

Pauatahanui inlet

Boatsheds

Eventually, I folded the hide and moved on and went round to the Paremata side of the inlet and stopped at the often photographed row of boatsheds. There were voices there and someone was clearly enjoying morning tea in the blissful solitude of a sun-soaked deck at the edge of the inlet at high tide.

The other side of the inlet

When the conditions are right this is a perfect spot

At the Paremata road bridge, there was a pleasant view of the other set of boatsheds. If you look along the line you will see a group of youngsters enjoying the use of the yacht club deck as a diving platform.

At the Eastern end of the Pauatahanui Inlet

An island of stillness crossed by traffic

Lunch beckoned so I went for a toasted sandwich and a “long black” at the excellent “Ground Up” coffee shop at Pauatahanui. As I came into the village I noticed stillness in the creek nearby so after lunch paused to see what could be done. I went for slow exposures and waited until there were vehicles on the bridge.

And that’s all I have to say today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, flowers, Landscapes, Light, Paremata, Pauatahanui, Reflections, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

