January 16, 2014 … making the best of brief moments

Despite the theoretical freedom bestowed by retirement, civilisation (living and interacting with others) imposes a lot of constraints.

Don’t get me wrong, I do not seek to break those links. As a retiree, I can get up later than I did when I was working, though the contractors working on my neighbours’ landscaping arrive way too early and start up their noisy digger. There are very few meetings that I really must attend, though I make an exception for lunches.

I no longer have teaching to prepare for, so where does the time go, and why is so little of the day free? I don’t know, but somehow the spaces in which my kind of photography is practical are quite small. I spend about an hour a day on this blog, but that is a pleasurable activity except when I am running late and it becomes an obligation. There may be an element of obsessive-compulsive behaviour in there somewhere. Mary is still working, so simple justice requires that I do some domestic chores, though she still does more than her fair share.

The Avalon TVNZ studios

The tallest building in the valley … easily visible from Wellington

When yesterday’s opportunity came, it was late in the afternoon and the random destination generator in my head said “go up the valley”. I didn’t go far and I made some errors in my choice of equipment, but my first stop was at Avalon. Most New Zealanders will recognise Avalon as the former home of Television New Zealand, back in its glory days of telethons, and “Gardening with Eoin Scarrow”. It has recently been sold and is now a suite of independent production facilities. The building is still an imposing structure, situated as it is amid a quiet suburb of predominantly sing story dwellings.

Sun-seekers

Somehow this strikes me as a very British way to enjoy summer.

From there I went across Harcourt Werry Drive to the Hutt River where I encountered this couple enjoying the sun  in a spot sheltered from the wind  in the stony banks of the river.

Hutt River

A sidestep in the river

A little downstream I came to one of those places where the shingle builds up and for reasons I don’t pretend to understand the river stops in its tracks and shifts sideways before resuming its journey to the sea.  Downstream from there, families were swimming in the river and fun was being had.

High Street, Lower Hutt

Sadly this end of town is becoming a bit run down

Harcourt Werry Drive took me back to Lower Hutt and I found myself at the Northern end of the city’s original shopping precinct. We knew it as VIC corner when we first arrived here in 1980, and I have no idea of the origin of that name. This view looks South towards the main retail area of Lower Hutt. The foreshortening effect of the long lens makes the traffic look worse than it really was.

Must get on with my housework.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Avalon, Lower Hutt, Rivers, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January 16, 2014 … making the best of brief moments

  1. whittyp says:

    From what I have been told from Vicky’s parents one of the first large building in the area was owned by the Victoria Importing Company which everyone shorted to VIC. The corner that it was on became known as VIC Corner in just the same way as many people refer to the corner of Willis Street and Lampton quay as “Stewart Dawson’s corner”.

    • Thanks Paul. That at least gave me the keywords for a better result when searching . This answer is on the the web page of the now defunct VIC Cycles: What Does V.I.C. Stand For?

      A question that is often asked, V.I.C. is the initials for the Variety Importing Company. Similar to the old D.I.C. Department store on Lambton Quay – (Direct Importing Company) that is now the Harbour City Retail Centre.

      The Variety Importing Company had a store at the intersection of Connelly and High Streets and Melling Road, where the converted Levene retail store that now houses the Contact Energy Building is located. The Variety Importing Company shipped it’s goods up the Hutt River by lighters from Wellington, landing just north of the present Melling Bridge. The bend in High Street was therefore known as V.I.C. Corner.

  2. Adam Rosner says:

    “Where does the time go?” – I have a theory which I will use an analogy for: Imagine a cluttered desk. with a laptop and mouse on it, and a bunch of other stuff as well. The space for the laptop and mouse, and the space in front of it, remains clear for the user’s access. Now take away the laptop and mouse, but keep using the desk. Soon enough, the empty space vacated by the laptop and mouse begins to fill with other clutter. Eventually, you will wonder how you ever had space for a laptop and mouse on that desk.
    The desk is your time, the laptop and mouse represents the work you used to do before retirement.

Leave a Reply

