January 11, 2014 … into the darkness

So here we are in Clive again.

Waka ama lining up for a race

This is a very popular and very physical sport

Family duty brings us here every so often, and that is always an opportunity to explore the various wetlands around the area. Clive is pretty much at the place where four rivers arrive at the sea, the Tukituki, the Clive, the Ngaruroro and the Tutaekuri all arrive on the Pacific coast of the Hawkes Bay here. As well as the bird life that comes with four estuaries, there is great opportunity for recreation. Indeed citizens of Clive are eager to remind visitors that the Evers-Swindell twins (New Zealand Olympians) come form here. This weekend there seemed to be some sort of waka ama (outrigger canoe) event on the Clive River at the Evers-Swindell reserve.

Swan patrol

Returning at last light

I was not very successful with the birdlife yesterday, so after an excellent and convivial dinner with Mary’s brother  and sister-in-law, we walked back to our motel via a lengthy detour down the river bank. The light was fading quickly and a flight of swans came in low and fast and the silhouettes appealed. I stretched the limits of a hand held nearly night shot.

Fennel

Fennel

Coming back up a street beside the river, I liked the intricate lace work of the fennel growing beside the track.

Lest we forget

The Clive war memorial

Arriving back in the village I saw yet another silhouette, this time the war memorial statue of the New Zealand soldier with his “lemon-squeezer” hat. Oncoming traffic is bound for Napier.

More tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Clive, Landscapes, Light, Napier, night. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 11, 2014 … into the darkness

  1. Ellen says:

    Love the colours in the swan picture.

Leave a Reply

