January 9, 2014 … I can see clearly now, the rain has gone*

Yesterday was a mess.

Amongst other things, a good friend alerted me to the fact that Te Papa has some rules about what can and can not be photographed, and what you can do with the images thereafter. Now I have nothing but goodwill to Te Papa, though I still prefer a more traditional and less theme-park style of museum. In that spirit, I decided that the images from Tuesday of the Britten Motorcycle and the Culbert/Hotere artwork were in breach of their IP rights so I had to scramble back and remove them. Sorry.

Incoming!

For what we are about to receive … that rain front sailed up the harbour with amazing speed

Domestic obligations came next and before I knew it the day was over and there were no photos from yesterday in the can. Rats. Weather happened. A Southerly front came up the harbour, and there was some brief heavy rain and a few distant rumbles of thunder. I snatched a shot from an upstairs window. As you can see, we used to have a magnificent view of the harbour entrance until our otherwise friendly neighbours built their house. Dinner was done so I went out again, to see what I could find.

After the first burst of rain

South through the heads, there is obviously more weather to come

The front, though dramatic, passed quickly so there was not much left to see.

Jackson Street looking East

Though the street is empty the restaurants are full

Perhaps Jackson Street in Petone might have something worth seeing. Jackson Street has become the main restaurant precinct in the Hutt Valley. There are individual restaurants elsewhere, but Jackson Street has dozens of eateries which vary wildly in style and quality. In general, you pay your money and you make your choice. Despite the weather It was reasonably busy, as measured by the vehicles parked near the restaurants. The retail shops had closed and the bulk of the traffic had died down.

Jackson Street looking West

For some reason I think of Oklahoma, and the song “Everything’s up to date in Kansas City” … “I counted twenty gas buggies goin’ by theirselves”

 

The light was interesting, so I tried a shot in each direction.

That’s all for now.

*Johnny Nash, 1972, I can see clearly now

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, harbour, Normandale, Petone, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 9, 2014 … I can see clearly now, the rain has gone*

  1. Yes the light was interesting.

Leave a Reply

