January 8, 2014 … a bit of this and a bit of that — edited

(Edit: My apologies, but a friend drew to my attention the terms and conditions of admission to Te Papa and the prohibition on the use of photographs taken there. It may be a bit extreme, but I have no wish to be offside with Te Papa, so I am removing the images taken there)

Another dose of randomness afflicts my photography from yesterday.

Mary had the bright idea that we would take our granddaughter Maggie to see the Aztec exhibition at the national museum, Te Papa. For whatever reason, photography was not permitted in that exhibit, so I grabbed some images from other parts of the museum. One of my favourite items in Te Papa is the magnificent Britten V1000 motorcycle which was, in its day a world beater. What a tragedy for all concerned that it’s creator, John Britten died so early of cancer.

While the ladies were looking at the World of Wearable Art exhibit, I looked over the 4th floor balcony into the main atrium. There is an art installation on the floor and ceiling of this space, and apparently they are intended to be seen together. Ralph Hotere and Bill Culbert collaborated to make this installation which consists of two giant black circles. The one on the ground is surrounded by a ring of neon tube, while the one on the ceiling is crossed obliquely by a straight neon line. I am quite unsure of that artists intentions but I quite like it. I am particularly amused by the fact that most people on the ground floor are blissfully unaware that they are walking across a very large art work. I got some shots when there were no intruders, and some when it was crowded, but I liked the one with the person doing a tightrope impression around the rim.

Leaving Te Papa

It’s always a busy place

(Again, my apologies, I can’t provide the images that go with the text . I am not even sure if the image above is ok, but if they have objections I shall remove that too)

Camellia

A special gift from a special person

At home in the late afternoon, Mary noticed that my magnolia was in blossom for the first time. Our elder daughter, Catherine gave it to me as a present several years ago. I like all magnolias.

Stick insect

One of the good things about stick insects is that they stand very still for a long time

My final shot from yesterday was of an unexpected visitor shot exactly where it landed on a bed cover upstairs. This is a tiny immature stick insect (Clitarchus hookeri) which had flown in through an open window. I had to get out the extension tubes to get close enough.

More of my struggles tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, insects, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 8, 2014 … a bit of this and a bit of that — edited

  1. The magnolia is beautiful. And I like the circle. Pity it is from above and not ‘from underneath”.

Leave a Reply

